

Galway Summer Rally victory opens Triton Showers Motorsport Ireland National Rally Championship title race

Josh Moffett's dominant victory in the Bluebird Care Galway Summer Rally has dramatically reshaped the Triton Showers Motorsport Ireland National Rally Championship title race. With just one round remaining, the Donegal Harvest Rally, any one of four drivers could claim the coveted championship.

Daniel Cronin and Eddie Doherty remain tied at the top of the standings on 102 points, but dropped scores will come into play, adding an extra layer of complexity to the championship battle.

Josh Moffett retains third place after his Galway win and now has four overall wins to his name. Sam Moffett sits in fourth following his second-place finish.

Josh Moffett and Keith Moriarty secured a start-to-finish victory in Galway, but the win was far from straightforward for the Hyundai i20 R5 crew.

They faced intense pressure from Sam Moffett and James O'Reilly throughout the event, with the latter finishing just 11.2 seconds behind.

Driving a newer Hyundai i20 Rally2, the Moffett brothers demonstrated their exceptional pace and skill.

Eddie Doherty and Tom Murphy also posed a significant threat, with the Skoda Fabia R5 crew finishing in third place and only four seconds adrift. They have been one of the revelations of the year to date and were looking to put up a serious challenge to the Moffett siblings.

After the opening stages, there was little to separate the top three, with Josh holding a slender advantage over Eddie and Sam. Weather conditions were perfect with dry roads, but the early stages saw some notable retirements, including Paul Barrett and Kevin Eves.

The battle for the lead intensified throughout the rally, with Josh Moffett maintaining a narrow advantage over Sam Moffett. Eddie Doherty remained in contention, while James Ford and Daniel Cronin fought for fourth place. Michael Boyle, Declan Boyle, and Gary Kiernan also made their presence felt.

The Group 4 Fabrications King of the MKll battle was equally competitive, with Daniel McKenna emerging as the victor. He finished eighth overall, ahead of Michael Carbin and Conor Murphy. Carbin took top points in the Mk2 Challenge element of the National Championship as McKenna is not registered.

Gareth Deazley and local codriver Oisin Joyce won Class 2 in their Ford Fiesta Rally4 but important Billy Coleman Young Driver of the Year points went to Matthew Boyle and Gary Byrne who were driving a Peugeot 208 Rally4.

Craig Rahill, the current leader of the Motorsport Ireland Junior Rally Series, prioritised Rali Ceredigion in Wales over the Galway Summer Rally but remains on target to secure the championship class win.

Local crew Brian Martyn and Liam Callaghan won the Junior Rally in their Honda Civic but it seems the title fight will be between Donegal neighbours Kyle McDaid/Shane Maguire and Jordan Jervis/James McBrearty.

The Galway Summer Rally was a resounding success, attracting a large field of competitors and spectators.

As the drivers prepare for the final round in Donegal, the championship race is poised to be one of the most exciting and unpredictable in recent memory. With so much at stake, the Letterkenny-based Donegal Harvest Rally on October 12 promises to be a thrilling conclusion to the season.

TOP FIVE OVERALL AFTER ROUND 7

- 1 Daniel Cronin 102
- = Eddie Doherty 102
- 3 Josh Moffett 98
- 4 Sam Moffett 95
- 5 Gary Kiernan 70

Calendar

Triton Showers Motorsport Ireland National Championship Rounds 2024

- 1. Mayo Stages Rally 3rd March
- 2. Monaghan Stages Rally 7th April
- 3. Birr Stages Rally 21st April
- 4. Carlow Stages Rally 19th May
- 5. Circuit of Munster 2nd June
- 6. Stonethrowers Rally 14th July
- 7. Galway Summer Stages 1st September
- 8. Donegal Harvest Rally 12th October

#TritonShowers #BeApartOfIt #RallyTvIrl #MotorsportIreland #MIRallyAcademy #RallyChampionship #FlyinFinnMotorsport #CitroënRacing #Round7 #GalwaySummerRally2024 #R4DS

Photos by Kevin O'Driscoll/L.McMenamin